Inquire out loud

Observation

Posted on: October 24, 2010

I love the idea of taking notes and observing the children while working in class. I find this an excellent assessment tool. It tells you straight away what children understand and can do and gives you a valuable feedback on which you can plan your next teaching step. My question is: how do you record your observation in a consistent and convenient way?

6 Responses to "Observation"

It also gives you great insight into how a class works, what the group dynamics are, what you can do next in terms of team building….

Note-taking seems to be the most “used” way, electronically or by hand, but I wonder if there are other ways to do it. A quick video, as I said in my other comment, or a voice recording maybe?

I have seen teachers using randomly post-it, then sticking them on the page of the correct student. I seems a good idea so far to me. Anything else?

Yes, that is a good idea. I make notes in my notebook and I have been trying to post them in GoogleDocs when I can, but so far that has not worked too well.

I have created a folder on GoogleDocs and each child has his own page. I have added some comments in the first weeks of school but then I left it there too.

Same here. Although, that doesn’t mean it has to stay this way. The advantage with GoogleDocs is that I could share the documents with you and you could add your comments in there as well, allowing us to build a bigger picture!

Did you create a spreadsheet or a document?

document

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Tasha Cowdy: I enjoyed the article. The idea of coblaboration was new to me. it helped me to reflect on my professional interactions; am I simply cooperating and
  • Jessica: Organizing blogs you read, subscribing to them.... easy and for me, necessary..... You could start by going to reader.google.com
  • chiaraforti: should I? I need your help here, then!!
